First Fall Storytime: Moon & Stars

Books

Kitten’s First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes


How to Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers

Welcome Rhyme

Star light, star bright
First star I see tonight
I wish I may, I wish I might.
Have the wish I wish tonight.

Flannel

“Four Little Stars”

“Four Little Stars”
Four little stars winking at me.
One shot off and then there were three!
Three little stars with nothing to do.
One shot off, and then there were two!
Two little stars afraid of the sun.
One shot off, and then there was one!
One little star alone is no fun.
It shot off, and then there was none!
Credit: Preschool Education

Action Rhyme

Moon Ride
Do you want to go up with me to the moon? (point up)
Let’s get in our rocket ship and blast off soon! (climb in, seat belt, blast off)
Faster and faster we reach to the sky (jump and reach)
Isn’t it fun to be able to fly? (hands out)
We’re on the moon, now all take a look (look around)
Sit back down, and I’ll read you a book. (sit down)
Credit: SurLaLune Storytime

Songs

Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star by Kidzup

Bumping and Jumping by Kimbo Educational – Parachute

Action Rhyme

Action Rhyme: “Bend and Stretch”
Bend and stretch, reach for the stars
There goes Jupiter, here comes Mars
Bend and stretch and reach for the sky
Stand on tip-e-toe, oh so high!
Credit: Preschool Kids

How did it go?

This was a great start to my fall storytimes. The kids especially loved the parachute – after we finished “Bumping and Jumping,” I had about twenty little faces staring at me like, “Well, are you gonna play another song or what?” Meanwhile, the adults arms started falling off from exhaustion.

The kids responded especially well to Kitten’s First Full Moon, but I mean, how could they not? I had a few people who used to come on Wednesdays come too, so it was nice to see some familiar faces. I think all of the parents in the group were especially interactive – some even more than their kids were – which is such an amazing thing to see too!

Leave a comment